Dame Sue Ion

Chair of the Nuclear Innovation and Research Advisory Board

Dame Sue represents the UK on a number of international review and oversight committees for the nuclear sector including the Euratom Science and Technology Committee, which she Chairs, and the US Department of Energy Nuclear Energy Advisory committee. She was the UK’s representative on the IAEA Standing Advisory Group on Nuclear Energy 2000-2006.


Dame Sue Ion was a non-Executive Director on the Board of the Laboratory of the UK Health and Safety Executive 2006-2015. She has been a member of the ONR’s Technical Advisory Panel since 2014. She was a member of the UK Council for Science and Technology from 2004-2011, a member of the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council from 1994-2001, a member of Council for EPSRC between 2005 and 2010 and Chaired the Fusion Advisory Board for the Research Councils between 2006 and 2012.


Sue's background is in materials science/metallurgy. She gained a first class honours from Imperial College in 1976 and a PhD in 1979 before joining BNFL where she was Group Director of Technology 1992-2006. She was appointed Visiting Professor at Imperial College in 2006 and of London South Bank University in 2011 and has been a member of the Board of Governors at the University of Manchester since 2004 becoming Deputy Chair in 2015. She has held an Honorary Professorship at the University of Central Lancashire since the beginning of 2007.


Dame Sue was Vice President and Member of Council of the Royal Academy of Engineering between 2002 and 2008. She is Chair of the Royal Academy of Engineering’s MacRobert Committee.